ACT Branch

 Contact Us

Postal Address

Defence Force Welfare Association (ACT Branch) Inc
GPO Box 2272
Canberra ACT 2601

View Map


Office Address

Building A81
Harrison Road, RMC Duntroon
[behind Alamein Company]

Office Hours

Not always manned
Telephone: (02) 6265 9496         (Answering machine after hours)

Committee Members

ACT Branch President: Les Bienkiewicz

Vice President: Trevor Goodhew

Hon Secretary: Gerard Gough

Hon Treasurer: Paul Jones

Hon Asst Treasurer: Trevor Goodhew

Convenor, Defence Widows Group: Annette Sadler

Membership Registrar: Trevor Goodhew

Member Advocacy: Kerry Mellor

Member Welfare: Keith Russell

Member Pensions: Hilton Lenard

Member: Philip McGuire

Member: Marjanneke McGuire

Member: Christine Lamb

Member: Berry Jaugietis

Defence Widows Group

Convenor DWG Annette Sadler

There are 27 volunteer "Support Friends" in the Group


OUR CONSTITUTION .. click here.


ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:  Our AGM was held at 7.00pm on Tuesday 17th October 2017, at The Burns Club, Kambah.  The following reports were tabled:

- President's Report

- Financial Report

- DWG Report

NEXT COMMITTEE MEETING:  1000hrs Tuesday 12 February 2018 at The Burns Club

VAN RELOCATION:  The VAN office in Woden has relocated to the Dept of Human Services office in Woden. This is due to the end of lease on the current building which has been deemed unsatisfactory for years by most Canberra ESOs. The DVA plan is to have DVA staff located in a separate section of the communal office, clients will be met by the Human Services greeter and directed to the DVA office. The intention is to have DVA staff in the office to deal with DVA clients with some back-up provided by DVA trained Human Services staff.  One could be cynical about the move but we should give it a go before we get upset about it and the ACT DFWA is certainly keeping an eye on it.